USATF Pacific

PA Dave Shrock receives USATF’s Highest Accolade!

The Robert Giegangack Award

The Robert Giegengack Award was established in 1982 in recognition of the late Yale track & field coach’s half-century of “superior and outstanding contributions as an official, a coach, and an administrator in the sport and to the organization.” It is awarded annually to a person “who excels in contributing to the excellence and high standards of the sport of Athletics.” The Award is USA Track & Field’s only accolade not limited to one of the sport’s three disciplines (track & field, long distance running, and race walking), or to any one of the three principal areas of consideration (official, coach, or administrator).

From Dave:

It’s especially humbling to see the list of women and men who have preceded me whom we’ve all looked up to and have been lucky enough to have been mentored by.  Previous recipients from Pacific have been George Kleeman, Dr. Harmon Brown, Horace Crow, and Stan Wright.

This award is for all of you as well, as we have all worked together through the years to create an association that is considered of the highest standard in USATF.

Mike Conley with us at our AEC viewing party on the pool deck.

Mike Conley and Dave Shrock at the 2021 USATF Awards