

PAUSATF Officials' ANNUAL MEETING (8/21/16)

Location: UC Davis Football Stadium Club Room, Davis, CA

MINUTES

- I. Call to order @ 10:03 (Mike Bower)
 - Approval of Minutes of the 2015 Annual Meeting
 - Moved by Dennis Boyle; second by Bruce Makinson; approved
 - Acknowledgements (National Juniors, US Trials officials)
 - Emeritus officials
- II. 2016 JOs (Phil Leake)
 - 7500 athletes, 12,000 athletes in events
 - 7 officials dropped due to heat
- III. Sonny Maynard "You make the Call" Forum
- IV. Dave Shrock
 - National office voted to drop funding for Officials' liability insurance effective 10/31. Pacific Association executive board has voted to keep funding. Irene Herman will work on this.
 - Background Checks: National uses TC Logic. We have moved to NCSI. NCSI replicates LiveScan which has been used by Pacific Association.
 - Name Badges: Forms available for USATF name badges (\$10 from Dave).
 - National Annual Meeting is Dec. 1 4 in Orlando.
 - o 2017 & 2018 will be in Columbus, Ohio
 - o 2019 & 2020 will be in Reno
- V. Clinics for 2017 (Robert Benoy)
 - · Looking at more interactive clinics with athletes
 - Looking at combining Field Events (cover all events)
 - Need to be familiar with laser measurement
 - Recording; be able to reorder quickly
- VI. Recertification (Jim Hume)
 - 2017 is a recertification year
 - National Committee/Recert Chair hasn't decided what will be on the tests.
 - Must bring your Officials Resume for 2013 2016 to the Recertification Clinic. They will not be returned. Keep your own copy.



- Hume will send a survey of your work history prior to clinic. Make sure percentages add to 100%.
- · Rules Review will require that you note rule involved
- Officials Committee will take orders for NCAA & High School books to reduce shipping fees. Order will be taken before Thanksgiving and books will be delivered at Recert Clinic.
 - USATF Rule Book will not be out in time for Recert Clinics so must order on your own.
- Clinic Signups will be done through Google Docs. Jim will send out email with clinic locations and subjects.
- VII. Lunch 11:50 12:30
- VIII. Awards presentation (Leon Glover)
 - Dick Connors Award: Charlie Shepard
 - Dick Barbour Award (Field Official): Deri Bowen
 - Horace Crow Award (Field Official): Sue Murray
 - George Newlon Award (Track Official): Sean Laughlin
 - Laurie Maynard Award (Special Contributions): Irene Herman
 - National Awards
 - Howard Clemente
 - John Coie
 - Ray Fitzhugh
 - Sonny Maynard
 - o Bob Shor
 - Duane Wolterstorff
 - Association Awards
 - Michael Brown
 - Lucille Ligon
 - Dave Mantooth
 - Larry Manzano
 - Monty Stedman
 - Suzanne Thompson
 - "Atta Boy/Girl" Awards (JOs)
 - George Kleeman
 - Dave Shrock
 - Robert Benoy
 - Mike Bower
 - Shirley Connors
 - o Don DeRosa
 - Eric Dudley
 - Kim Graham-Miller



- Jim Hart
- Phil Leake
- John Murray
- o Jon Price
- John Shirey
- o Bob Shor
- IX. Devin Elizondo, UC Davis Coach (<u>delizondo@ucd.edu</u>, 530-304-8153)
 - Thanks to officials
 - Announced several meets scheduled for next year at UCD
 - Presented an award to George Kleeman recognizing his contributions to UC Davis and the sport of Track & Field
- X. 2017 Outdoor Championships (John Murray)
 - Pacific Association held in high esteem across the US
 - Review of Pacific Officials selected for National meets in 2016
 - Encourage all Pacific Officials to apply for 2017 Outdoor Championships
 - 2018 NCAA Western Regionals at Sac State
 - Applying for 2020 Olympic Trials
- XI. Foundation (George Kleeman)
 - 22 elite athletes applied for grants; 12 scholarships awarded; 7 made the Olympic Trials; 1 made it to the Olympics (Kate Grace)
 - 10 grants for \$1000 each will be awarded in 2017
 - The foundation welcomes all donations to help support our elite athletes in their journey to excellence
- XII. Election Committee (Phil Leake)
 - 2017 will be an election year
 - Phil needs volunteers for the Election Committee
 - Cross Country Jamboree in October at Hagen Oaks
 - Dec. 1, 2016 Western Regional Cross Country

XIII. New Business

Adjournment: Hume moved; Don Collins seconded @ 1:33.

Annual Raffle