PACIFIC ASSOCIATION OFFICIALS COMMITTEE REPORT BOARD OF ATHLETICS MEETING - SEPTEMBER 20, 2011

The Officials Committee of the Pacific Association held its annual meeting and Awards Luncheon on August 28, 2011 at the Bruce Edwards Club Room at the UC Davis Football Stadium, hosted by Coach Byron Talley and UC Davis Track and Field. Over 50 members of the committee attended the meeting.

Following the counting of ballots, Dennis Boyle, Chair of the Nominations Committee announced that the following were elected to two year terms in office:

Chair – John Murray

Vice-Chair – Phil Leake

Secretary – John Lilygren

At-Large Members to the Executive Committee – George Kleeman and Steve Green

Officials' Committee At-Large Representatives to the Pacific Association Board of Athletics – Dick Connors, Charles Murphy and Bob Thompson.

Dr. Leon Glover, Awards Chair, presented the following:

Don Bailes received the Dick Barbour Meritorious Service Award, Phil Leake received the George Newlon Special Recognition Award, Leon Wimbley received the Horace Crow Special Recognition Award, and Keith Conning received the Lori Maynard Memorial Award for Special Service to the Track and Field Community.

National Service Awards were presented to Mike Aro, Dino Certa, Bruce Makinson, Elizabeth Price, Jon Price and John Wise. The presentation of Association Service Awards was deferred to a later date.

Jin Hume, Certification Chair, advised that the National Officials' Committee Certification Chair had just notified him that, by virtue of the numbers of certified officials in the Pacific Association, we are entitled to four additional delegates to the National Officials' Committee during the annual meeting in St. Louis in December.

Respectfully submitted,

John Murray, Chair Pacific Association Officials' Committee