PACIFIC ASSOCIATION OFFICIALS COMMITTEE REPORT

BOARD OF ATHLETICS MEETING - SEPTEMBER 22, 2009

The Officials Committee of the Pacific Association held its annual meeting on August 30, 2009 at the Bruce Edwards Club Room at the UC Davis Football Stadium. Over 65 members of the committee attended the meeting.

A moment of silence was held to commemorate those of our Committee that passed on during the last year, Harmon Brown, Lori Coppola, Bill Edgar, John Lipsey and Don Wilson.

The following officers were elected to two year terms:

Chairman – John Murray Vice-Chairman – Phil Watkins Secretary – Jay Abbott

Ballots for the two at-large representatives to the Executive Committee were reissued to make a needed correction, and results of the election to those positions will be announced in October.

The following were elected as at-large representatives of the Officials Committee to the Board of Athletics:

Dick Connors Charles Murphy Bob Thompson

During the meeting, Bruce Colman received the Dick Barbour Meritorious Service Award, Rory Osborne received the George Newlon Special Recognition Award, Jim Waldron received the Horace Crow Special Recognition Award, and Art and Becky Klein received the newly created Lori Maynard Memorial Award for Special Service to the Track and Field Community.

National Service Awards were presented to Sean Laughlin, John Lilygren, Baird Lloyd, Leon Wimbley and Mark Youmans. Association Service Awards were presented to David Ahn, Megan Cook, Nadine Davis, Gail Decatur, Bruce Makinson, Ajay Padgaonkar and Robert Toth.

A Special Certificate of Appreciation was presented to Bruce Colman in recognition of his service to the Officials Committee.

Jim Hume, Certification Chair, announced that the Pacific Association Officials Committee, by virtue of its membership number as of August 1, 2009, will be awarded three additional representative delegates to the National Officials Committee Annual Meeting to be held in Indianapolis in December. Jim advised that ours is the only Committee in the country that qualifies for three additional delegates, and there are only two Committees nationwide that qualify for two additional delegates.

Shirley Connors, Training Chair, announced that the Training Committee was creating a four-year training schedule to coincide with each Olympiad, which will provide for a regular rotation of classes and clinics designed to maintain skills as well as encourage advancement in the certification level of the officials in our Committee. She also announced that cross-country clinics will be offered in September at various venues within our Association to provide training for our officials at the outset of the cross-country season.

Respectfully submitted,

John Murray, Chair Pacific Association Officials' Committee